New PR’s – Maybe??

So since it rained on Monday I didn’t get to go for a run until Wednesday. That’s the night that we go to church. Which means I usually go run before I get the kids and then meet Jeremy at his dad’s house cause they watch Keira while we go to church.

Well – that’s not what happened on Wednesday. Since we live 30+ minutes away from our church Jeremy wanted me to come pick him up. My car gets better gas mileage than his truck – so I said sure. I changed clothes at work, went and picked up Seth (which is back in school now 15 minutes from where I work) then went on to the house (15+ minutes from the school away from where I work) and did some house cleaning before Jeremy got home. After we all piled in the car we went to get Keira from daycare (closer to my work and Jeremy’s parents) – and then headed to get something for dinner THEN to Jeremy’s parents house.

If you’re wondering why we picked Keira up last – you try doing laundry and dishes and cleaning house while a 9 1/2 month old is clinging to your legs or wanting you to hold her or cry cause you aren’t holding her. Yeah – it felt weird being at home and her not there.

Finally – once at Jeremy’s parents house we dropped the kiddos off and headed for the park. It was about 6:30 by the time we got there. Remember – we have a 5K to run in 22 days (as of today) so we need to get in as much running as we can. We walked for a minute and stretched our muscles and then started off. I turned on my Strava after we were done stretching and didn’t touch it the whole time. I also used the band that Jeremy bought for me.

Long run short – we did 2.5 miles according to my Strava and I had a pace of 12:29 BUT Jeremy’s phone (which is different from mine and in a Otterbox case) says that he did 2.1 miles and had a pace of 15:06. WTHeck?!? When we look at the GPS mapping of the route we took his is more smooth and mines all over the place. His also says that we started and stopped at the same place and mine says we didn’t (but we kind of did so it should at least be close but it’s not).

Dude.

Does that mean that all my mileage and times are wrong?! Could it have been from the arm band covering up my phone that interfered with the GPS signal? I don’t know. I was mad!!! Then Jeremy said this after we looked at all my other runs and saw that they were kind of off too “At least your phone has been consistently wrong which means you have been improving.” Huh?

He meant that since my phone hasn’t been exactly recording, but I’ve been using the same phone, the PR’s I got on the run for Wednesday are still improvements. See what I’m saying? Here are my PR’s from Wednesday:
400m         1:37
1/2 Mile     4:43
1K               6:30
1 Mile        11:07
2 Miles      24:35

Those are a little better than my 2nd place times so maybe Jeremy is right. I don’t know. Maybe I will use some of the extra money I earn from my new venture to buy myself one of those GPS watches. Maybe that will be better than my phone!

What do you use to keep up with your runs?

Leave a Reply

