My Stats

On Friday the 10th of this month I started running again. I was nervous, scared and excited.

I have mentioned this before but I have an app on my phone I use for running. It’s called Strava. You should check it out. I like it a lot better than I liked my Nike + band (which I plan on selling at some point).

That Friday I went to a nature park to run. I hate road running, it aggravates my hurt knee more than trail running does. I had never been to this park, had never even heard of it until a few months before. I got there and it was sun shinning, maybe low 90’s and no clouds. I got about a half mile into the woods and it started POURING. So I turned and went back to the car. I wasn’t going to do much that day anyway BUT my phone decided to freeze and it didn’t save my run. I had to manually put it in Strava’s website so it didn’t calculate my pace, calories or anything. Bummer.

On the 13th I didn’t go running because I forgot all my gear (my shoes mainly). You can’t really run in flip-flops. On the 15th (Wednesday) I did go. I went to a park near my work and ran their paved track just to see if it would really aggravate me like it used to. It wasn’t so bad but this day I forgot my phone. I haven’t manually put it in Strava yet – cause well – I kind of forgot. I was so pissed I forgot my phone. It felt like I lost an arm or something that day.

Now on the 17th I did go running and I remembered my phone, my shoes and my change of clothes! Go me! I went to a trail I had seen before but never been down. It looked really pretty. That’s my Instagram feed, in case you didn’t know. 🙂
So – my phone actually recorded that run which I call Battlefield 2. It’s the second trail I’ve ever run there.
1.9 Miles
34 feet in elevation climbed
25:33 Moving time
13:39/mile Average Pace
265 Calories Burned
Dude – 13:39 a mile. I thought it was alright. Not amazeballs but good for the fourth time out right?

I don’t run on the weekends…too many kids to look after and things to do. So on Monday I went out again to a different trail. I call it Battlefield 3. New trail and new area. Half of this was part of a still used but old paved service road for the battlefield.
2.4 Miles
0 feet in elevation climbed (HA! could have fooled me)
34:29 Moving time
14:33/mile Average Pace
331 Calories Burned
This day my calf muscles were KILLING me and so were my ankles. I had to stop and pause the app several times to stretch them out. No wonder my pace was slower. I was so mad at myself for the slower pace.

Then this past Wednesday (the 22nd) I went out again to Battlefield 2. It was cooler which was nice. On the way back to the car I had to stop and pause the app because there were two deer in the way. They thought I was interesting I guess. They stopped and stared at me for a good three minutes and one even tried getting a bit closer (I was about 50-60 yards away). Then they went on about their business.
2.2 Miles
41 feet in elevation climbed
31:53 Moving time
14:12/mile Average Pace
315 Calories Burned
Still slower than the 13:39 pace….still aggravated with myself BUT…..

I have set a few PR’s since I have been using this app.
PR for 1 mile time:   13:23
PR for 400m:             2:36

I don’t know how well that stacks up to other people but I am pretty proud of myself. I’ve been at this for two weeks and I’ve lost three pounds and I bought new jeans Wednesday and they were sevens….SEVENS. I haven’t seen that size since a few months before I got pregnant with Keira (in March 2011).

I don’t follow anyone on Strava and no one is following me. If you are a runner I highly recommend this app and if you do download it – follow me! I need encouragement and me talking out loud to myself on my runs works but it’s good to get kudo’s when your done too and post it! Oh – by the way – I am not paid or perked by Strava for this review of their app or any other blog post I’ve mentioned them in. I doubt they even know I and my little blog exist. I am still trying to figure out how to get their widget on here. Hopefully I will figure it out soon so you can keep up with me and keep me accountable. 🙂

What do you guys think of my times? Horrible? Good for a restart after taking a year and half off? Kick butt? I don’t know what to compare it to or anything. An average finishing time for a 5k is under 30 minutes. Obviously I have lots of work to do before my first one at the end of next month!!!!

4 thoughts on “My Stats

Leave a Reply

