9 Months!

Keira turned 9 months old this past Saturday – the 18th. Yesterday was her check up. Seth also had a check up cause he’s 10 this year.

Seth’s check up was like a physical for school except he also got a flu shot too. I asked the doctor about his height because Seth said that he gets picked on because of it. He’s 4′-5″ and I am 5′-4″. The doctor said that Seth should end up being about half a foot taller than me – so that’s about how tall Jeremy is – 5′-10″. The doctor told Seth that he just hasn’t hit his growth spurt just yet. I remember when my brother hit his growth spurt (we are five years apart). It’s like he grew a foot in two weeks (I’m sure it took longer than that in reality). Hopefully – since Seth takes after his Uncle Johnathan so much that’s how it will be for him too.

As for Keira’s check up she was fine until she was laid down so the doctor could check her belly. She didn’t like that and started to cry. When she cried some times she sticks her bottom lip out and frowns…it’s makes me sad to see her unhappy but at the same time I think it’s a cute face. Is that bad? Anyway – they weighed her and she’s only 15 lbs 3 oz. which means she’s only gained a pound since her last check up three months ago.

They measured her and she’s 27″ long. That’s an inch longer than she was three months ago. It kind of made me worry that she wasn’t eating enough or that something was wrong because she hadn’t grown much. The doctor said not to worry – that based on her stats and the growth chart it just meant that she was going to be very petite. That just proves to us that she does take after Jeremy’s mom’s side of the family as far as her body build is concerned. His mom, Aunt and cousin Tara are all about my height or a little taller and little. Little like I gave my size three jeans I couldn’t wear anymore to his mom and they were a little big on her. Yeah – seriously.

Keira’s doctor also said that she could eat anything she wants since she burns off her calories so fast. She has started to eat the lunch that the daycare provides and her teachers say that she has been doing really good with it. Today is ham, corn and pineapples so I am sure that she will love it. Ham is her favorite at the moment.

OH! Something I didn’t know but am kind of super excited about – Keira’s doctor said that beginning at 11 months we can start subing half of her formula bottles with whole milk! She still only drinks between 4-5 ounces every three hours from a bottle so that means that come October 18th 2 1/2 ounces can be formula or breast milk and 2 1/2 ounces can be whole milk. If she does good with that for two weeks we can totally transfer her over to whole milk. I think that will be a good time for me to start weaning her. She already wants the milk I pour for myself (I think she thinks it’s formula or breast milk).

They also gave her a flu shot in her leg and pricked her toe to check her blood count and other things. It came back saying that she’s anemic. Which makes me think that I am too. Guess I should start taking my iron pills again huh? He (Keira’s doctor) said that we should get some Flintstone vitamins with iron and break one in half and crush it up and give it to her daily. So today I did just that and put it in her cereal. Did you know that regular Flintstone vitamins don’t have iron in them? I figured it would – I though it was weird.

Anyway – both kids are good except for the iron issue which makes mommy and daddy happy. Keira ended up falling asleep at around seven and she slept until about 11. Then she got up again around 2:30 and again at 5:30 (I was already up getting ready for work) so I count that she only got up twice. It’s an improvement from the past few nights when it’s been three times. I guess because she was so tired from the doctor’s office.

When did you start giving your baby whole milk? I don’t think Keira will have any reactions but you never know.

Leave a Reply

