I’m A Guru

Not really – but I did open a Guru account.

In case you haven’t heard of it – which unless you are a freelance writer you probably haven’t (heck I heard about it months ago and just took the plunge to open an account today) – it’s a website where you create a profile and bid for freelance writing jobs in your chosen category. Mine happens to be writing, editing and translation. You can pick more than one category – I just haven’t yet. I want to see how this works out.

Of course I can’t translate anything. But underneath that category headline is other things like creative writing, articles and press releases and blogs. See where I am going with this? See this is a blog – I’ve had it for over a year. I am in the process of writing a book – four to be exact. I’m saving some of my money for Scrivener. Yeah it’s only $40 but we need a new laptop desperately – I won’t buy it until we have one.

I have a basic membership which means it’s free. I get 10 bids – you get more if you pay for a subscription to the service. Like I said – I am going to see how this works out first before shelling out some money. Next you find a project in your category that you think you could do in the time frame given by the employer and for the amount they are paying (or you give your own amount you’d like to be paid). Once you found something you think you could do you place a bid for it. You are competing against others to get the work, if you get the work you do it and turn it in and you get paid through Guru – as long as the employer approves your work. Easy right?

I found a posting for wedding planning and event writing for a blog. I put in my bid and gave them a short description about how I think I am the best fit for the job and so far I am up against 8 other folks. I checked them out. Seven of them have actual Guru accounts – that they pay for. The other loner signed up is like me, new and never done anything on Guru before. At least I have a one in ten chance of getting it. I just hope that my bid for the work wasn’t too high, you can’t change it.

You do have to pay a fee though to Guru if you get the job….11% or something like that. If you pay for a membership it’s cheaper and you get more bids a month. I’m anxious to see what happens. You know – if I get it or not. I think it would be fun and awesome!

That’s one of the things I was thinking about doing that I mentioned here – there is other stuff I am thinking about doing to…when I figure it out I will let you know. 🙂

2 thoughts on “I’m A Guru

Leave a Reply

