See Jane Run

There is actually a website called See Jane Run. They basically sell anything for women that has to do with running.

This past Friday was the first time in a LONG time I had went for a run – and this time I went alone – into the woods. My hubby could have killed me. I had my pocket knife – and a cell phone but let’s face it – if something was going to happen to me, it would still happen.

I went to a nature park that ended up being 20 minutes from my work. I thought it would be closer. There were little white puffy clouds and it felt nice, in the 80’s I’d guess. Someone had said that the last time they were at said park that the trails were over grown. I could tell that they had been through there recently to clear them out as you could still see rake marks in the dirt.

I chose the 1.1 mile loop which said it would take an hour to do….if you were walking. I started up my Strava app and took off. I chose to go to the right which ended up being mostly downhill. Not so bad right? Well – I had to dodge rocks, limbs and leaning trees on the way. There was once – right before a wooden bridge – that I thought I was going to trip and seriously injure my face – but I didn’t! 🙂 I looked at Strava a few minutes later and found I had already done .3 miles and was pretty pumped to go the whole way around the loop. I felt good, I wasn’t breathing heavy or anything (which I honestly thought I would be) and then…

It happened.

Out of no where God decided to make it rain. REALLY!?!?! I checked Strava again and I had done a half mile in about 5 minutes. That’s pretty awesome for me since I haven’t been on a run in almost 6 months. That’s when the next thing happened. My phone decided that it was too hot or wet or whatever and froze. I was pissed to say the least.

So – in the pouring rain I decided to turn around and go back the way I came. I told myself “At least you will do a mile today!” Which is more than I can say for any other day. I started back up the trail and boy was I sorry. I mentioned at the beginning of this post that the way I took was mostly downhill, and remember that place where I almost tripped? Serious incline my friend – seriously.

By the time I got back to the top I was dying. Hills are my worst enemy. My legs felt like jello and I had dirt in my shoe and some how one of my socks came half way off from inside my shoe! I sat down on the closest bench I could find under some trees and took the battery out of my phone under my shirt and put it back in. It didn’t record my run – DANG IT! But I figured out the time and it took me about 15 minutes total. Five down and ten back. Good for me.

I love the Strava app on my phone but I really need an arm band. I looked on Amazon and found this one. Not the prettiest thing ever but are they supposed to be? I also thought about getting one of those FitBit things again. Maybe I can put it on my Christmas list. 🙂 Who knows, maybe Jeremy will get one for Christmas too and we can compare our stats.

I am going running again this afternoon after work. Even though I won’t have an app to track my time or distance (cause I forgot my phone today!!!) I still want to go, I probably just won’t go where I was going to go. I do feel naked without my phone and I’d rather run in an open space without one than in the woods without one. I plan on going Wednesday as well. I think I can put a Strava app on my blog – I remember seeing that somewhere. That way – you guys can see that I am actually doing something and motivate me if I get lazy.

I really want to sign up for my first 5k soon. It will give me something to work towards. AND – we might have found a jogging stroller for $50!! Woo hoo! Seth made mention that he wanted to go with me on my runs. I will see if maybe on Saturday’s we can start going in the mornings. Seth loved track at his old school and is really missing it here at his new one.

Wish us luck on our running endeavors! 🙂

**No such luck finding the Strava app for my blog. Sorry folks! I can keep you updated with screen shots though! It will still keep me accountable!

Leave a Reply

