Teething

Since Friday last (the 22nd) things have been pretty rough. The daycare asked for Tylenol or ibuprofen for her during the day for her teething pain so I had brought that – the Tylenol anyway. That night I went and got ibuprofen for her and gave it to her before bed. It helped some but she still got up three times and only once was it to nurse.

Saturday night was even WORSE. I had given her the ibuprofen before bed and she got up SEVEN times and twice was to nurse. Sunday night wasn’t as bad – she still got up three times. So – Monday when Jeremy was picking up his medicine at CVS I asked him to go look for these teething tablets that everyone has been talking about.

He found Humphrey’s Cherry Teething Pellets #3 so I told him to get them and we would try them. She fell asleep at 7:30 and by 8:30 I told Jeremy to get her up to change her clothes and get her to take her medicine. Well – she didn’t want to wake up. We laid her on her changing table and she stretched out and stayed that way. We got her onesie off and got her a new one on and she never even wiggled. We gave her her medicine (ibuprofen) and then gave her her teething pellets. I didn’t read it completely and gave her two pellets under her tongue. We were supposed to dissolve them in 1/2 teaspoon of water and then give it to her under her tongue. Woops.

Anyway – I didn’t try to feed her because she had eaten at 7:30. She woke up at 12:30 a.m. and then at 4:30 a.m. and then at 6 a.m. I got her up to nurse before going to daycare. At least I got some sleep – and so did Jeremy. She missed Seth that morning (he’s at his granny’s for a few weeks visiting).

I took the teething pellets to daycare and they only had to give them to her once. They said she was pretty happy the rest of the day along with her Tylenol. I left it there for them to use because – well – ibuprofen works better for her at night and I don’t want to possibly forget it at daycare or something.

Last night wasn’t bad either. She fell asleep at 7:30 again but she needed a bath – her hair had so many tangles! We got her up around 8:30 and got her in there and then by 9 she was clean, dressed and ready for her medicine. She did NOT want to take it. Some of the ibuprofen went down her chin and then the dissolved pellets went down her cheeks some. I got most of it in her mouth (under her tongue) if you count just giving it to her like medicine. She only got up once around twoish and then again at five.

I heard a lot of people won’t use the all natural pellets or tablets because they have belladonna in them. Honestly – there is so little in the pellets that there is no way for a child to get sick from them from the recommended dosage. I don’t have a problem using them and Jeremy doesn’t either. I even called her pediatrician and they didn’t have a problem with me using them – even with the Tylenol and ibuprofen.

I’m just happy that she’s happy now and that her little gums aren’t hurting her near as bad. She has a bunch of teething toys and a paci that’s a teething raspberry. She was chewing on that last night like crazy. I know I see two teeth on the bottom and I think I starting to see four on the bottom yesterday. I don’t see any on the top though. Here’s hoping that the rest of this week is a good one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

