It’s all in the details

Since Keira has been in the world – I’ve been thinking about her first birthday. I know she will be too little to remember but it’s her FIRST birthday – you have to go all out right? Then again on her Sweet Sixteen birthday but that’s FAR into the future.

For Seth’s first birthday I took him to see my dad and his wife on the mountain. I got him a small cake from Wal-Mart and we all had lunch together at dad’s house. At that point in my life I hadn’t even turned twenty yet – that was two months away – and it was just me and Seth. I didn’t have any friends because all I did was work and come home to Seth. I was pretty much alone most the time. Not to get all sad or anything – we will move on.

I wish I could have done more for Seth’s first birthday but I will make it up to him on his sixteenth I guess.

I’ve been talking to Jeremy about Keira’s party for months. I wanted to have it at the first place I was able to take her when she was three months old – a little cute cafe. Jeremy said no but then said if I could get someone to help pay the $100 bucks for the location we could. Yeah – no one would help. I resigned myself to having 30+ people at my house and kids running around and a total mess to clean up afterward – until a few weeks ago.

I started hinting about it again – wanting to have it somewhere else besides our house cause I wanted it to be different and special. Going to this little cafe has been something I’ve done for the past four months – we’ve gone at least once a month and I’ve taken the kids along. Sometimes it’s just me and them because Jeremy has to work. Other times he is with us. The girls that work there always talk about Keira’s hair. The girl has a ton of it! More than her daddy at the moment….
Anyway – he finally is seeing my point of view – that this is a big deal and that it needs to be royally celebrated!! So yesterday I called and booked the venue for Sunday November the 18th at 3pm. That is her actual birthday too so that makes me even more happy. Although – who knows who will come out for a Sunday evening birthday.

Now that the location is set I can get into my event planner mode. The invitations I picked out are chocolate-brown and pink which goes wonderfully with the pink and brown table cloths at the venue! See! Things working out already! I am going to get her invitations from an Etsy store called Paper Impressions. As for the one’s I’m in the process of ordering its these!
Not the wording of course but this is the invitation! I’m debating on getting return addresses printed but I could do that myself. She also has coordinating thank you cards, stickers and hang tags. Depending on what I decide to do with favors I may end up getting the stickers or hang tags.

Next on my list of to do’s? Find a baker for her smash cake and cupcakes since my most favorite baker has closed down to focus more on her family. My second favorite baker is a little on the pricey side and my third most favorite – I’m not quite sure can get exactly what I want. I’ve had a few small (teeny tiny issues) with the cakes I’ve ordered from her.

After the baker is finalized – photography!! I have a few folks in mind! If I do it I will miss a lot and well – I’d want a professional to capture every little moment cause I don’t want to miss a thing from this birthday!

The venue and the invitations are just the first two details I am working on. There is LOTS more…..trust me!

Leave a Reply

