Cefadroxil

Generic for Duricef. Warnings on the label: Finish all medication unless directed by your doctor. May cause Diarrhea WEEKS to MONTHS after taking drug.

Lovely. This is not something I’ve ever had before and it’s the medicine they gave me for my mastitis. MedMd information says “This medication is a cephalosporin-type antibiotic used to treat a wide variety of bacterial infections (e.g., strep throat, skin and urinary tract infections). It works by stopping the growth of bacteria. This antibiotic treats only bacterial infections. It will not work for viral infections (e.g., common cold, flu). Unnecessary use or overuse of any antibiotic can lead to its decreased effectiveness.”


My OB said I could still nurse her and MedMd also said that it does pass through the breast milk but there are no adverse reactions in babies. Well – that’s good to know. It also said that if stomach upset occurs to take it with food. Seriously if you are ever given this medicine TAKE IT WITH FOOD. Just trust me on this one.

Although my tummy does not like the meds when I don’t eat – it does work. My boob is no longer hard in any places. Actually – it seems as if my left side has produced more milk the past few days too. Almost like my body knows I need to make up for the lost milk from that side. Isn’t that amazing?

I’m not back to pumping 14-16 ounces a day like I was but I got about 10-11 ounces yesterday. I have been supplementing Keira’s bottles at daycare with only one bottle of formula. I thought that because of me she was spitting up more but I think it’s just cause she’s got the sniffles. Crystal’s couch, my pants, Keira’s outfit and Crystal’s shirt and living room floor got a great introduction to Keira’s spit up on Wednesday. I’m glad I had extra pants in the car and sorry about your couch Crystal! ๐Ÿ™‚

I’ve come to terms with the fact that I won’t be able to pump what Keira needs during the week but I know that she can get what she needs herself from me at night and on the weekends. She is the best pump after all. I don’t feel as bad for having to give her formula – I will give her what I can and then we will buy the best formula out there for what I can’t. She really seems to like this Enfamil Premium stuff. It’s like she can’t tell the difference according to her daycare workers.

I know things will be alright….I have Faith. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

