Valentine’s Day

Wikipedia says the following about Valentine’s Day.
“Saint Valentine’s Day, commonly shortened to Valentine’s Day,is a holiday observed on February 14 honoring one or more early Christian martyrs named Saint Valentine. It was first established by Pope Gelasius I in 496 AD, and was later deleted from the General Roman Calendar of saints in 1969 by Pope Paul VI.

The day first became associated with romantic love in the circle of Geoffrey Chaucer in the High Middle Ages, when the tradition of courtly love flourished. By the 15th century, it had evolved into an occasion in which lovers expressed their love for each other by presenting flowers, offering confectionery, and sending greeting cards (known as “valentines“).

Interesting no? It says a bunch of other stuff too but that seemed most interesting to me. Our Valentine’s Day was celebrated this past weekend since Jeremy works late and we didn’t really have any other time to do it. Except ours was full of – complications.

First off – on Wednesday the 8th our washer broke. Well we had a used one and for some reason it didn’t work either so we had to end up going to get a new one and Jeremy’s dad thinks he can fix the other one so – we will be giving it to Jeremy’s Granny Pony. Her washer walks when it washes….really. The new one was finally put in yesterday and I got to washing clothes. It holds A LOT. Happy Valentine’s Day to me. Sort of. Jeremy didn’t just get me a new washer (hehe) he got me Breaking Dawn Part 1 Wedding Edition AND a Kindle Fire.

AWESOME! I feel like poop though cause all I got him was a card, some dark chocolate and a gift certificate for a massage. He works hard and I’m too lazy. 🙂

Saturday we were preoccupied with the washer issues and then we had a dinner for his brother’s wife at Olive Garden at 7 that night. It was alright. I didn’t eat much. Then Sunday is when we went and got the new washer and had to drive to two different stores to get the one we wanted. It was a GE and on sale plus Home Depot had a 10% sale so we saved like $200 on it! Yeah us!

So Sunday NIGHT Jeremy’s Step Mom (Granmaw) watched Keira and Seth so we could go out. We went to Big River out by the mall. It was YUMMY and we got dessert (which we never do really) and it was huge! A chocolate cake with chocolate mousse and ice cream! Delish!

I am still trying to figure out my Kindle Fire and I have already downloaded one book…Mockingjay I think it is. The last one in the Hunger Games series. I am almost done with the second on and I can’t wait to read the third one!

What did you get for Valentine’s Day????

Leave a Reply

