38 Weeks (Day 228)

Well – it’s once again that time of the week.

I’ve said “I’m done being pregnant!” to myself at least a few times this week. I weighed myself this morning. I’ve gained a pound since Friday but I guess that’s better than gaining seven. I have to go back to the doctor today so they can check my blood pressure. I don’t know if they will check anything else – I guess we will see.

Per last week – I am in the last fruit stage over at The Bump so nothing new there. I do feel like a watermelon though. It’s getting harder for me to find shirts to wear. I’ve started to wear my belly bands again because I can’t zip my pants, much less button them.

Baby Center says that Keira is about 6 pounds 9 ounces and is around 19 1/2 inches long. She has a firm grasp and her organs have matured to the point to where she can survive outside the womb. This week it talks about her eye color. It says that if she’s born with brown eyes that they will likely stay that way. If she’s born with steel-gray or dark blue eyes, they may stay gray or blue or turn green, hazel, or brown by the time she’s 9 months old. That’s because a child’s irises (the colored part of the eye) may gain more pigment in the months after she’s born, but they usually won’t get “lighter” or more blue. (Green, hazel, and brown eyes have more pigment than gray or blue eyes.)

Seth’s eyes were a bluey grey when he was born and now his eyes change from blue to green or a mix. It depends on what he’s wearing. My eyes change color from brown to green – mostly depending on my mood. Jeremy’s eyes can be either a really dark blue grey color or a really light blue color to green depending on what he’s wearing.

Baby Center also talks about breast-feeding. I asked and there is a lactation consultant that comes to visit you every day in your room at the hospital I am going to and they are available for questions throughout the day. That kind of helped me be not so nervous about nursing. I didn’t with Seth so this is a new thing for me.

The bags are packed for the hospital and in the car and her car seat is installed. Her room is just about complete (still waiting on the last vinyl) and there are a few little things to be washed (a dress, a hat, 3 teethers and a blanket) and two things still need to be put up on the wall. The painting my mom did for the baby shower that everyone signed and a wall plaque. We don’t know exactly where each one will go but it should be done this week.

Work is still looking for a replacement for me while I am gone. They want to interview people and I will only have about a week to train them – that is – if Keira decides to wait until her due date to arrive. There is a little bit of TMI ahead so if you’re not into pregnancy related stuff – have a nice day.

I am pretty sure I lost my mucus plug. It wasn’t red or brown or anything just a lot more “stuff” than usual. It lasted about two days and it’s pretty much stopped today. I know that it’s not a complete sign that she’s on her way but hopefully it’s a start. Maybe Friday when I go back to the doctor (when I know they will check me) I will have made some progress. Keep your fingers crossed.

xo – S.J.

Leave a Reply

