Dandelion Root Tea (Day 226)

Ever heard of it? Yeah – me either till a few weeks ago.

I pinned a picture to one of my Pinterest pin boards – this picture (it’s in my “Food and Drinks” section).
“Helps flush out excess water weight” – that’s what struck me the most. When I read that I looked at my feet. So I got to researching. The web site that pulled up first was AmericanPregnancy.org and this is what it had to say regarding herbal teas – which – is what dandelion root tea is.

“Herbal teas are naturally caffeine free, so caffeine is not an issue when consuming this type of tea.” So no caffeine which is a great thing! “Herbal tea companies, such as Celestial Seasonings, report that they do not use any herbs that are considered dangerous and choose to use herbs from guidelines that the FDA has published. The herbal teas that are considered to be unsafe are those that are not made commercially, those made with excessive amounts of herbs (amounts larger than those found in common foods or drinks), or those made with herbs that are known to be toxic.” So there are guidelines that herbal tea companies should follow.

This is what they have to say regarding dandelion root tea. Dandelion (Insufficient Reliable Information Available) Rich in Vitamin A, calcium and iron; dandelion root and leaf can also help relieve mild edema and nourish the liver.”

NOW – I know that too much vitamin A during pregnancy can cause birth defects and for breast-feeding mom’s it can concentrate in milk. The only thing I can’t figure out is if one tea bag in 60 ounces of water (like it says to do above) is too much. I’d think not but – I can’t find anything. I have found the dandelion root tea bags online at Amazon and I checked at Wal-Mart but they don’t have any. They had just about every other kind of herbal tea but not dandelion root tea. I have to go back to the doctor on Wednesday and I may ask him about it. If he can’t give me any information on it then I will drive out to our local Vitamin Shoppe and see if they know anything about it or try to find some other little hole in the wall herbal store.

If you know anything about this kind of tea – let me know. If it will help me lose some of the swelling going on and be beneficial after I have her without being bad for me or her I’d love to use it.

xo – S.J.

Leave a Reply

