37 Weeks (Day 220)

Well well well – once again it’s that time of the week! This Friday I will be 37 weeks pregnant.

Crazy. Just. Crazy.

It seems like it’s all gone by so fast. Documenting this has really meant a lot and I probably wouldn’t remember half of it if I DIDN’T do this. I have a bad memory sometimes.

Ah – the last rung on the fruit chain at The Bump!!! Keira is now the size of a…watermelon. I certainly feel like I am carrying around a watermelon!! Average size says 18.9 to 20.9 inches and 6.2 pounds to 9.2 pounds. At the end of this week I will be considered full term according to them. The Bump also says this little bit: Baby spends these last weeks in preparation for the outside world… meaning careful refinement of the blink, suck, inhale and exhale. Meconium, which you’ll probably find in the first diaper, is accumulating in the intestines. If (okay, as) you worry about giving birth, consider what it’s like for the little one. During the journey out of your womb, baby will produce more stress hormones than any other time in life.

I’ve thought about what it’s like for her. I mean – can you imagine being in a dark little space for 40 weeks and then trying to squeeze out of a 10 cm hole? I’m glad we can’t remember back that far!!! The earliest memory I have is of my first day of Kindergarten when I met my first friend – Candice. We had the same shoes on – those black and white saddle shoes. I still talk to Candice.

Anyway – moving on over to Baby Center. They too say I am at full term and if she is born now she wouldn’t have any issues as far as breathing and such. They say Keira weighs about 6 1/3 pounds and is around 19 inches long. They also talk about babies being born with lots of hair and parents being shocked at what color it is.

Seth’s hair was so blond you couldn’t even tell he had hair. The ultrasound tech said two weeks ago that Keira had LOTS and LOTS of hair so now I am just wondering if it will be straight like mine or curly like Jeremy’s, brownish blond like mine (naturally) or darker brown like Jeremy’s. Who knows – the tech may have been wrong and she comes out with no hair at all!

Baby Center also mentions Braxton Hicks contractions (I’ve had one or two) and losing the mucus plug. Lovely I know. That hasn’t happened yet – at least I hope I would notice if it did. At my last appointment I let you guys know that the doctor mentioned inducing labor on the 18th – and Jeremy and I flat-out told him NO.

I told someone that yesterday who apparently doesn’t read the blog – and they asked me why we didn’t want to (if we thought it was too early). I explained “Because I don’t want to be induced. I don’t want any drugs at all, no pain medication no epidural.” This person laughed – LAUGHED – and said “Oh you will change your mind about that I’m sure.”

You know what? If I wanted your opinion I’d ASK FOR IT. You simply asked me why I didn’t want to be induced so I told you – don’t knock my decision to have a natural birth. Do the research – see how those drugs affect a baby and a mom. I’m sorry you had a bad natural birth experience – but just because you did DOESN’T mean that I will – so keep your opinions to yourself!

Jeezz. Some people just irritate me! I want a natural birth – is that so horrible? If you had went through what I went through with Seth – being induced was HORRIBLE and having the epidural was even worse! Get stuck with that needle SEVEN TIMES and see how you feel after wards. I will fight my hardest not to have any medication at all. That’s why my husband is there – some one to calm me and make me feel comfortable. Someone who supports my decision – unlike some other people. If you don’t support my decision – then you will NOT be in the delivery room. Plain and simple.

I am done ranting now – have a good day. 🙂

xo – S.J.

Leave a Reply

