36 Weeks (Day 211)

Once again – it’s that time of the week.

And once again I am still stuck in the “honeydew melon” phase of The Bump’s “How Big Is Baby” section. Honestly – I now really feel like I am carrying around a melon. Thank goodness I can still see my feet though.

Since I’m still stuck in the same phase at The Bump we will move on to Baby Center per usual. I had mentioned in an update post on Monday that she weighs in at about 5 pounds 13 oz. give or take several ounces and that she had TONS of hair. I have noticed too that I am starting to waddle. I hate that. I certainly am not a duck. I try my hardest to walk like a normal person but it just ain’t happening.

Baby Center says that Keira is putting on an ounce of weight per day. I hope she isn’t as big as Seth was (9 pounds 1 oz.). It also says that she’s around 18 1/2″ long although the ultrasound tech didn’t say anything Friday about how long she was. Baby Center also says that she’s shedding most of the downy covering of hair that covered her body as well as the vernix caseosa, the waxy substance that covered and protected her skin during her nine-month amniotic bath.

Um – it says that she also swallows both of these substances, along with other secretions, resulting in a blackish mixture, called meconium, will form the contents of her first bowel movement. Lucky us. They also say that at the end of this week I will be considered full term. Keira is head down and from the ultrasound on Friday – really close to my cervix. That may have been TMI but I’ve shared everything else with you guys! 🙂

One thing Baby Center mentions is starting a grapevine. A phone chain more or less to let people know when she’s on her way. I hadn’t thought about that. I just know that my mom, Jeremy’s dad, Jeremy’s mom, Jeremy’s step mom and my brother and my sister-in-law, Jeremy’s brother Jared and his wife, are all in a specific spot in my phone so that we won’t have to search for numbers.

I know that it will be the last thing on my mind probably but at least they are all in one spot!! 🙂

xo – S.J.

Leave a Reply

