Extra Special Chewy Chocolate Cookies (Day 206)

Type in chewy chocolate cookies in FoodGawker and see how many posts you get – A LOT. I know I got this recipe from there but I have no idea who it came from. I’m bad about not writing that kind of thing down – sorry. If you do know who originally posted these – please let me know.
That picture is not of my cookies but of these cookies. See I didn’t have any actual chocolate on hand. I had cocoa powder so I needed something different. These are definitely on my list of “to make” though. They just look so yummy!!

As usual – I totally didn’t take pictures of the process of making these cookies or of them after they were done. I’m sorry I am such a non picture taker. I will tell you that the batter is very cake like after you mix it all together. I was skeptical about them actually being chewy (cause I love chewy, melt in your mouth cookies) but they were awesome!

Extra Special Chewy Chocolate Cookies

1 ¼ Cups Butter, Softened
2 Cups White Sugar
2 Eggs
2 Teaspoons Vanilla Extract
2 Cups All Purpose Flour
¾ Cup Unsweetened Hershey Cocoa Powder (I had Tollhouse – same thing)
1 Teaspoon Baking Soda
½ Teaspoon Salt

Preheat Oven To 350 Degrees. In A Large Bowl Cream Together The Butter and Sugar Until Light and Fluffy. Beat In The Eggs Then Add The Vanilla. In A Separate Bowl, Stir Together The Flour, Cocoa, Baking Soda and Salt; Gradually Mix Into The Creamed Mixture.
Drop Dough By Teaspoonfuls (I used my Pampered Chef medium scoop half full) Onto Parchment Lined Cookie Sheet. Bake For 9 Minutes In The Preheated Oven. Cookies Will Be Soft and Still Look Slightly Doughy. Let Set and Cool On Cookie Sheet For 2 Minutes Then Remove From Sheet Onto Wire Rack To Cool Completely.

Even when using about 1 tablespoon for the cookies instead of a teaspoon – 9 minutes worked fine for me. They were very gooey so be careful when removing them from the pan. Once cooled though they were fine. I got about 3 dozen cookies from this batch. My cookies were bigger than what the recipe says so if you do them by teaspoonfuls you’ll get a lot more.

It took all I had not to lick the beaters from the mixer. Since I’m pregnant and there were raw eggs in it I couldn’t. I sadly washed all the yumminess out of the bowl and off the beaters. I made up for it by eating about four cookies when it was all said and done. OMG – they are GREAT!

Let me know if you try making these and how they turn out! Oh – and they were also a big hit with Seth and with Jeremy!

xo – S.J.

2 thoughts on “Extra Special Chewy Chocolate Cookies (Day 206)

    • I linked to underneath the picture – I hope to make them soon. I have five weeks until our little girl is here so hopefully it will be before then! Or maybe someone can make them for me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

