35 Weeks (Day 205)

35 weeks….really. FIVE MORE WEEKS.

Five.

I don’t think it’s honestly sunk in yet.

I keep asking Jeremy if he’s ready for a tiny baby and he says “YES!” and I haven’t asked myself that question. I’m kind of nervous to be honest. Not so much worried about food or clothes or anything like that just the whole financial situation of being out of work for 12 weeks. That scares me. BUT – I know everything will alright deep down – I just way over analyze things.

Moving on to the weekly update – The Bump still says the same thing as it did at week 33 so nothing new there. Baby Center says that Keira doesn’t have much room to maneuver now that she’s 18 inches long and weighs in at around 5 1/4 pounds. Yeah right – she moves ALL the time. She’s even stretched out once or twice and I can see her poke out on each side of my belly. Weird….

Her kidneys are fully developed now and her liver can process some waste products. Most of her basic physical development is now complete and she will spend the next few weeks putting on weight. I hope she doesn’t weigh a lot like Seth did. He was 9 pounds 1 ounce. I am hoping she will be around 7 pounds but I guess we will see on Friday how she’s doing.

Baby Center also describes the Group B strep test. It says that it’s usually harmless in adults but if it’s passed to the baby it could cause pneumonia, meningitis, or a blood infection. If I am a GBS carrier, I will get IV antibiotics during labor, which will greatly reduce Keira’s risk of infection. Only about 10% to 30% of women have this.

Baby Center also talks about getting your birth plan ready. I hadn’t really thought about it but I guess I should take a look at writing up one. They have a link to their page that helps you – you can find that here instead of searching their site.

Something else it mentions is preparing food for after the baby is born. Like doubling dinners and freezing them for later. I’m sorry but I just don’t see the point. I’ve done ready to go smoothies but no food. I’ve read a lot of other blogs of women who’ve had babies and they say that friends and family have offered to bring them dinner for at least a week or two after the baby comes. No one’s said anything about that to us and I haven’t asked.

I guess that’s it. I of course will have an update about the doctor’s appointment – more than likely on Monday.

xo – S.J.

2 thoughts on “35 Weeks (Day 205)

Leave a Reply

