Jeremy’s Rocker (Day 204)

Okay it’s not really Jeremy’s rocker – but he has sat in it more than I have.

We looked around for ages for a rocker or a rocking chair. What ever you want to call it. My brother has the one that my mother had when she had us. When I had Seth I didn’t have one. At that point we had a futon for a couch and one recliner in our tiny apartment. So I used the recliner even though it was hard as crap to get out of it when I finally got Seth to sleep.

I hated that thing.

So when we started to look we went to our usual place – Craigslist. The only rockers that were for sale were the fully upholstered ones that run like $700 (used for like $250) and I didn’t want that either. How come no one was selling just a regular rocking chair?

There is a place locally that sells all wood furniture. So I dragged my nephew Jeff with me one day to go look. They had several rocking chairs but they were all over $200. Some more than $300 if they were Amish made. Don’t get me wrong I loved them but I wasn’t going to pay that much for a rocking chair.

No luck there or Craigslist. The only other places to look were furniture stores like Ashley or wholesale warehouses. Jeremy and I did just that two weekends ago. Sadly – they were all over $200 also. I knew there were glider rockers at Wal-Mart but I didn’t know if we could find one that was around the same price somewhere else and maybe better made.

Nope. We didn’t.

So off to Wal-Mart we went. Oddly enough the same exact chair at our Wal-mart (closest to the house) was $145 and the one closest to Jeremy’s dad’s house (30 minutes away from us) was $130. So needless to say we went to the cheaper place. Jeremy checked out how it was made and he said that it was actually pretty decent. Just like the rockers we looked at when we went to the wholesale place who wanted $260 bucks for theirs. We were saving about $100 getting the same thing from Wal-Mart. So – here she is.
Might I also add that the one at the wholesale place didn’t come with an ottoman. The one from Wal-Mart does. They wanted about $150 just for the ottoman at the wholesale store. Ridiculous I know. The wood on the glider matches the wood on Keira’s crib and changing table. The off white fabric is suede feeling and seems easy enough to clean.

When we first got it, it stayed in the living room. It was too crowded in there for my taste so I finally moved it to her room. Once it was in there I realized that the day bed we were going to build plus a dresser may not fit. Yikes! We’ve been thinking about 86ing the whole idea of a day bed in there. I mean there is a glider in there now but – I just liked the idea of having a place to lay down I guess.

We will have to see how that goes. We also were thinking about a five foot long dresser. If we could find a shorter one the day bed wouldn’t be an issue. I’ve re-arranged her room about five times. At the moment her crib is between the closet and a window. It being close to the window makes me nervous but at the same time I don’t think she could reach anything on them (like the blinds or the strings or anything). It will more than likely be moved again – and maybe one more time after that.

xo – S.J.

Leave a Reply

