What’s Your Sign? (Day 200)

I decided to look up my astrological sign. I’ve looked it up before but don’t really remember what it said.

In high school we had to take a test to determine what field would be best for us to work in. To give us some kind of direction for college after we graduated. I remember the three fields it thought would be best for me: Accountant, Teacher or Psychologist. I’m not kidding either.

I hate talking in front of anyone – period. So teaching would be so totally out of the question (even though I LOVE history and think it would be an awesome subject to teach). I’d be so much better than my junior year history teacher who filled up two chalk boards with her tiny words which we had to copy EVERY DAY and then the test that week wouldn’t be on anything she wrote down.

Anyway – that left accountant or psychologist. Long story short neither one of those panned out but I’ve looked in to getting my associates in accounting – I just don’t have the time for college to do it. I’ll regret thinking that one day won’t I?

The point is – I looked up my sign to see what (if anything) it says about what fields would be suited for us. Us being Taurus’. The Taurus sign is the second sign in the zodiac calendar and anyone born between April 21st and May 20th fall under this sign. My birthday is May 6th (almost smack in the middle).

I’m getting all my info from here on Wikipedia. My stupid computer is acting up and won’t let me upload a picture of the symbol of Taurus – a bull. When I think bull I think stubborn and mean. Anybody else or is that just me? It does mention a “resistance to change“. That’s so totally me.

My sign is governed by Venus “the planet of art, procreation and indulgence, which adds the traits of creativity, sensuality, and appreciation of life’s material luxuries.” I am not a material person – at least I don’t think so. I want my house to look nice and my car to be nice but it’s not what defines me. I know someone – who shall remain nameless – who only buys things for their house if they “look rich”. It’s like walking into a Better Homes and Garden house in a magazine when you go over there. Everything is just so and has to be put back exactly like it was before if it had to be moved.

Taureans are considered “feminine” or passive. This gives the “characteristics of being reflective, receptive to the ideas of others: typically, a ‘thinker’ rather than a ‘doer’. But being of the earth-triplicity, Taurus is considered a highly practical sign which is happiest when involved in some kind of creative process“. See that? Creative process…I wonder if organizing is considered creative? AH HA! It just said that Taureans are renowned for being STUBBORN. So I was right. “Taureans are likened to the bull in being slow to show anger, but capable of raging if pushed too far“. YES – that is so me.

I’ve gotten into arguments with people before – lots of times. I’ve only seriously went off the rails a few times – and I can’t even remember why. When I get angry or upset I cry and my hands shake – but I don’t say anything thinking that the issue will just go away. Sometimes I can deal with it and some times I can’t. Ah – something else that is so me “Taureans enjoy basic ‘creative comforts’ and don’t allow others to disturb them easily, but they are slow to forgive when this happens. The positive side to this fixity is a ferocious willpower and absolute loyalty to loved ones, although they need to guard against possesiveness“.

Something I didn’t know – “the qualities of Taurus are considered to be compatible with those of the other earth signs: Virgo and Capricorn, and to a lesser extent with the water signs: Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces“. My brother is a Capricorn and so is Jeremy (the hubs). I can see similarities but never really thought about it.

Wikipedia also gives a list of people who were born under the sign of the Taurus. Charlotte Brontë, Catherine the Great, Oliver Cromwell, Henry Fonda, Sigmund Freud, Adolf Hitler, Saddam Hussein, Lenin, Daphne du Maurier, Karl Marx, Florence Nightingale, Eva Peron, Bertrand Russell, William Shakespeare, Peter Tchaikovsky, Harry S. Truman, Leonardo da Vinci, Orson Welles and Audrey Hepburn.

Granted some of those people I don’t want to be associated with but it’s interesting to see what these people did with their lives. Sadly – Wikipedia doesn’t say anything about jobs good for Taureans. After searching around to several different websites I figured out that anything that has to do with finance is a good fit or something musical. I played the flute one year in middle school. It also mentioned dance – I took that in high school.

One website also mentioned that anything not concrete in pay wouldn’t be good for a Taurus. Like freelance photography or writing. Kind of funny because I’d love to do that – the writing part anyway. I guess that might also mean owning your own business. Flow of money isn’t always guaranteed but yet Taureans take pride in doing things themselves.

I just thought it would be interesting to look up. I do have a creative streak I just don’t know what to do with it. I’m awesome with Photoshop and Illustrator. I like to bake things, if I had a sewing machine I’d make my own curtains for Keira’s room and a bunch of other things. I know how to crochet but not like my Great-Grandmother did – she was amazing. I could make you a pot holder if you wanted one – that’s about it. Maybe a blanket if you waited long enough for it.

I need to find something to do. I need to start something moving. I just don’t know what. This all started a few years ago when I got the “bug” to open my own business. It fades then comes back – and now it’s back and I need to figure it out this time. Something will be done – but when?? Who knows….

xo – S.J.

Leave a Reply

