34 Weeks (Day 198)

It’s that time of the week again! Our (my) weekly baby update!

This week I am 34 weeks OR 8 1/2 months pregnant and boy do I feel like it. I have gained – 40 – pounds. FORTY. Seriously? I was so hungry yesterday it wasn’t even funny. Today I ate a bowl of honey nut Cheerios and then fixed myself a smoothie hoping to stave off any more hunger until lunch. It seemed like I ate everything in sight yesterday – first time that’s happened – and it will be THE LAST.

Anyway – enough about me obsessing over how much I’ve gained. I’m sure you want to hear about the pea anyway. Oh – and just to let you know. That Chinese gender predictor thing – it was right. Don’t know if I’d ever confirmed that or not. I checked it when we found out we were expecting (at 4 weeks and 2 days) and it said girl. I knew it was right! 🙂

Enough rambling. The Bump says – same thing as last week. Still at the “honeydew melon” mark. Blah blah blah same as last weeks update.

Baby Center says: Keira should now weigh about 4 & 3/4 pounds and is almost 18 inches long. Her fat layers are filling her out making her more rounded out. Her skin is also smooth. Her central nervous system is maturing and her lungs are continuing to mature as well. It also says that if she’s born now she would be fine. Maybe a few days in the NICU but other wise just fine.

Baby Center mentions waking up at night for pee breaks and having to move around a lot to get comfortable. I get up once a night usually and that’s it. I can fall asleep in one spot and be there in the exact spot when I wake up in the morning. So I guess I am pretty comfy.

Baby Center also mentions the probability of a c-section (30%) and that it’s usually because of an unexpected circumstance. That would be the ONLY way I’d have a c-section (if there was something wrong). Baby Center also mentioned a plan for when labor starts. If you have older children who will get them from school – who will they stay with while I’m in the hospital etc. I hadn’t really thought about it. I guess I should huh?

I will also be getting our cd of the maternity pictures we had taken some time this week. I can’t wait to see them all! Dani put some up on her photography Facebook page (you can find the link to her page in this post about the pictures). She’s awesome!! I hope to share some with you when I get the cd!!

xo – S.J.

Leave a Reply

