Chocolate Making (Day 189)

So – my baby shower is in two days (if you count THAT day) – Saturday. We are having cake, cupcakes, fruit dip with fruit, salsa and chips, pickles, a cheese ball, some other things I can’t remember at the moment for some reason AND molded chocolates.

I am in charge of the chocolates – cause my mom got me some molds and I just wanted to make them. Dude – who knew I’d go nuts trying to make my first batch!

I had a half of an almond bark brick which was white – I LOVE white chocolate so I figured that would be the kind I would make. I also had a few little bricks of Dove Chocolate Discoveries milk chocolate.
That Dove Chocolate is SO yummy! I wish I had the money and the time to order more to make more chocolates – but I don’t. šŸ˜¦ I will have to call the Rep I bought from last time to get her to send me a catalog. Anyway – that picture of the almond bark I got from here. I find this at my Wal-Mart for about $3 a bar. The half bar I had and the whole bar I had made about 80 chocolates. About six or eight of those were made on lollipop sticks. I found a mold at Michael’s that had giraffe’s on it so I used it and some of the other ones that had lions and zebras on it.

The first thing I tried was melting it in a bowl in the microwave and then putting it into a plastic baggie with the corner snipped off. That wasted WAY too much chocolate. So I attempted to put the next batch of melted goodness into an “icing press” that I bought out of one of those catalogs from Seth’s school. Yeah – that was a TOTAL bust. I wasted even more chocolate than in the plastic baggie!!

Then – I remembered something from a post I had read about a few days back when I was looking up different ways to melt the chocolate – SQUEEZE BOTTLES! Think something like this.
The one I got is smaller and is actually Wilton brand (couldn’t find it on the web site) at Wal-Mart. Where I got the picture from here. Also the ones I have are smaller. I paid $2 for two bottles. Man – having these was like totally different from the bags and the icing press thing! I didn’t waste a lot of chocolate, it was mess free and all around awesomeness.

Yea me!

I hope that everyone else likes white chocolate – if not I guess they won’t get any chocolate! šŸ™‚ Well – they could get cake and cupcakes. I am too excited for words about the baby shower!!!! I have to finish painting polka dots on the clothespins tonight – hopefully (and I am sure they will be) they will be dry by Saturday morning.

I am loading everything into the car Saturday morning and picking up Crystal to go get the cake and cupcakes. I am going to make everything else I need to at church since we will have about three hours before people start arriving. Plus we have to decorate too.

You have no idea how excited I am to decorate and put this together! This gets my event planner side all fuzzy (and to be totally honest – my OCDness too)!! If that’s possible anyway….

xo – S.J.

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Making (Day 189)

Leave a Reply

