Why Even Bother (Day 181)

Baby Shower.

Who knew those two words would cause so much – stress.

I knew going into this that I wanted to help with the baby shower as much as possible. I thought that everyone else wanted to help too. My SIL Crystal is, my mom and even my step MIL Mary is. If you notice someone missing – it’s my MIL. Not totally complaining about it but it is kind of aggravating.

Long story short – me, my mom, Crystal and Mary are splitting up the food and decoration costs. My friend Natalie paid for the invites – which I’ve already stressed out about enough. I have a binder of everything for the baby shower. I’m totally OCD about keeping lists and checking things off. I wonder sometimes if I should even bother with it. Then I remember though – if I didn’t have lists I would go nuts. Just ask my niece Hunter.
Our theme is a pink giraffe. I got this picture from Pinterest here. Of course ours is a cartoonish giraffe but still. We have pink plates, napkins and going to get clear cups. Favor boxes are pink and there will be pink, white and brown tablecloths. We couldn’t really find anything with giraffe print on it unless it was super expensive so we are just going with the colors in the invite.

Oh then there is the cake. It will be giraffe print with a giraffe on it and so will the cupcakes. I can’t wait to see them! I am really looking forward to seeing all my friends and family. Some of my friends I haven’t seen in a long time. Two of them are from Jeremy’s old job and the last time I saw them was at a Thanksgiving dinner that Leah (one of my friends from Jeremy’s old work) threw at her house. Everyone that they used to work with was there. It was so nice seeing everyone.

We had a meeting a few nights ago about what still needed to be done as far as decorations and food. It isn’t as bad as I thought it would be. So that helps me deal with the stress a little – to know it’s not as much stuff to do as I feared. I emailed the cake lady and have yet to hear back from her. If need be I will text her or call her. I want to make sure everything is going okay with the cake plans.

I counted everyone on the guest list once more. There are 87 people. About 10 have already said that they can’t make it. Another 10 or so have said that they didn’t know if they were going to be able to come. Only 35 (round about) have said they are coming. That includes myself and mom, Crystal and Mary.

I just hope that everything goes as planned. That same day is the church yard sale from 7am to noon. I have the gym from 11am to 5pm and at 6pm is the Olympian (Wednesday night kids youth group) get together. One other thing I hope goes alright – is that we have enough food!!!!

xo – S.J.

One thought on “Why Even Bother (Day 181)

  1. Hi,I usually spend hours on the net reading blogs on various subjects. And, I really would like to praise you for writing such a fabulous article. I honestly believe there is a skill to writing articles that only very few posses and yes you got it.thanks for the post.

Leave a Reply

