Shingles (Day 178)

Have you ever had chicken pox? I did. I will spare you the pictures of what it looks like to have chicken pox.

It was horrible. I itched everywhere. Johnathan had it too. In fact – I think he had it first. I had scars on my forehead for a really long time. I don’t really think you can tell anymore. I know they are they are there though. Any who – if you’ve ever had chicken pox then you know that when it goes away it doesn’t completely GO AWAY.

“After a chickenpox infection, the virus remains dormant in the body’s nerve tissues. The immune system keeps the virus at bay, but later in life, usually as an adult, it can be reactivated and cause a different form of the viral infection called shingles.” That’s what Wikipedia says. Although – I’ve heard that shingles only comes back if you’re stressed out or have a weakened immune system.

I write this because I was handing out invites to the baby shower to some people the other day and one of them kind of freaked out when they realized I was next to them. She backed away quickly and put her hand up. She started saying that she had just gotten over shingles. I didn’t think much about it because I already had chicken pox and well – I just didn’t think it was that big a deal.

That night I went home and was still thinking about it. I woke up at one and then again at three – still thinking about it. I used my phone (its free internet when we use our wifi) to look up shingles and pregnancy. It basically says that if you’ve already had chicken pox and you come in contact with some one who’s had shingles – it’s impossible to “catch it” from them.

Whew! That made me feel better! I think they have a vaccine now for kids – I am pretty sure that Seth has gotten it. I’m glad that he won’t have to go through the pain of chicken pox. I don’t remember much about it but I remember it sucked. I think it’s a requirement for school now or something. I’m not on that “vaccines give kids disorders” bus – not yet anyway. Seth doesn’t seem to have any issues with anything and he’s gotten every single one that’s required by his school.

So pregnant women who’ve already had chicken pox can’t catch shingles from any one. That means I have nothing to worry about! Oh – and you can’t have chicken pox twice. At least that’s what I read anyway.

xo – S.J.

Leave a Reply

