29 Weeks (Day 170)

I am now a squash on The Bump – well not me really – Keira is the size of one for the next month according to them. Average baby size is 15.2 to 16.7 inches long and weighs in at around 2.5 to 3.8 pounds. They say that Keira’s energy is surging, thanks to the formation of white fat deposits beneath the skin. She’s been kicking a lot more lately and they hurt (not all the time – but sometimes).

She is also settling into sleep and waking cycles, though they don’t necessarily coincide with your own. I have noticed that in the morning’s she’s up from around 7ish to 9ish and then is quiet until lunch. Also from about 6 at night to 7 she’s awake and then from 9 to 10. I feel her move throughout the day but those are the times when I feel her A LOT.

Also this month, all five senses are finally functional, and the brain and nervous system are going through major developments. I only have 11 weeks left and my baby shower is coming up faster than I expected it to. It’s crazy how 10 months seems so far away but it comes up on you QUICK!

Now from Baby Center. Keira weighs 2 and a half pounds and is a bit over 15″ from head to heel. I bet you she stretches and that’s when it hurts. I can also feel her foot under my ribs at certain parts of the day. It’s so neat to feel! Her muscles and lungs are continuing to mature, and her head is growing bigger to make room for her developing brain.

To meet her increasing nutritional demands, I will need plenty of protein, vitamins C, folic acid, and iron. And because her bones are soaking up lots of calcium, I need to drink milk (or eat cheese, yogurt, or drink enriched orange juice). This trimester, about 250 milligrams of calcium are deposited in your baby’s hardening skeleton each day.

I take my vitamins every day like I’m supposed to and I do drink a lot of milk. I used to drink at least two glasses of orange juice a day but got tired of the pulp in it even though I’d buy the pulp free stuff! I guess I should get me some yogurt this week when I go to the store IF I can find some I like. I’m picky – I don’t like the kind with actual fruit in it. I like my yogurt smooth.

NEVER did I ever do kick counts with Seth. Why make women worry? If you don’t feel activity for a long period of time you know something is up – I shouldn’t have to sit around and count kicks at different times during the day. It’s ridiculous to me.

Well – that’s if for this weeks update. I’m not as stressed about the baby shower as I was – I think everything will be great. I also am not stressing about my 3 hour sugar test tomorrow. My boss even told me that stress makes your blood sugar rise. Who knew? I hope and pray that I pass it – please pray for me too!!

xo – S.J.

Leave a Reply

