Baking Fool (Day 152)

So Sunday was a lazy day for us. We overslept our alarm and I woke up at 10:45 – so we missed church. I hate that we missed it but it was a humongous lazy day which I think we both needed. Jeremy worked over Thursday and Friday and Saturday we had people over – we really needed it.

The only thing we did Sunday was go to Cracker Barrel and eat and then get apples from the Food Lion. The Cracker Barrel was in Ringgold. Maybe you’ve heard of it. It was on the news a few months ago.

You can find other video’s on YouTube if you care to go check it out.

It’s been over four months since the tornado rolled through town. I remember spending that night in the bath tub with Seth. Thank the Lord our power never went out and the ones closer to us never did a lot of damage. A few homes in our subdivision had shingles and siding gone but that was it. Not nearly as bad as Ringgold. I would have kind of thought that at least some of the stuff would have been repaired by now – but not really.

There were several gas stations that still only have a trailer as an office. The Wendy’s has been rebuilt, the KFC is almost done and the Pizza Hut and Krystal’s are still bored up. The Taco Bell is new too and the auto dealership is rebuilding. It was kind of sad to see that not more of the city had been rebuilt but I understand it takes a while. The high school is being rebuilt and should be open in time for school to start next month.

The point of this was to tell you what I baked this weekend. Sunday we got home at around six so I THOUGHT I had plenty of time to bake what I wanted to bake. I did – but I ended up going to bed at eleven and that was after eating a piece of the pie I made with ice cream. Yup – I made apple pie from scratch again AND blueberry muffins from scratch last night. It took me longer than what I thought it would but it was okay – everything is yummy so who cares.

Here is the recipe I used for the Deep Dish Apple Pie and the Blueberry Muffins. You can’t pass on the brown sugar on the muffins – without the sugar they just aren’t the same. Believe me I know – I didn’t have any last night when I made mine, I wish I had went to the store to get some. Sorry I can’t remember where I got these recipes. Anyway if you try it let me know what you think!

xo – S.J.

Leave a Reply

