24 Weeks (Day 142)

Sorry I didn’t get around to posting this yesterday. I got occupied with other things to do.

24 weeks – or rather to me the beginning of month six. The Bump says the same thing as last time – so I won’t even mention anything that they have to say since I’ve done it for the past two-three weeks. Baby Center has a little more detail though. Keira has gained about 4 ounces since last week which makes her weigh a little over a pound and she is a little over a foot long (about the length of an ear of corn). Her brain is growing quickly still and her taste buds are still developing.

Her lungs are developing “branches” of the respiratory “tree” as well as cells that will help her air sacs inflate once she comes into the world. Her skin is still thin and translucent – but that will start to change soon. Also within the past few weeks the top of my uterus is a few inches above my belly button – so it’s about the size of a soccer ball now. I’ve felt her kick/punch up there a few times – it kind of hurt! I also should be getting a glucose test soon – I am pretty sure he told me it would be the next appointment I’d have. I don’t remember having gestational diabetes with Seth but he was nine pounds when he was born and had low blood sugar – what they say are signs of it.

As far as the nursery thing goes – we still have boxes to put up from the back bedroom and most of the closet is cleaned out. Still haven’t sold the futon yet – it may end up living in Seth’s room anyway. I guess I could put some kind of storage underneath it. We’ve also still been looking for furniture (two dressers and a chest of drawers) to no avail. Our last resort is to drive down to Atlanta to the Ikea store and see about picking up a few of these.

It’s called the Aneboda 3 drawer chest. It measures 31 1/2″ wide, 15 3/4″ deep and 39 3/8″ high. We haven’t pulled a measurement in the house yet to see how big (or small) it would actually be but I like the look of it AND it’s only $70.

There are lots of things from Ikea I want. Hooks for Seth’s closets to hang up his jackets separate from his regular clothes (because the hall closet is already filled with mine and Jeremy’s jackets). They also have lots of organizing solutions that are cheaper than Wal-Mart, Home Depot and Lowes. It’s one of John and Sherri’s (from Young House Love) go to places (besides Home Goods and a few other places).

Things are made well from Ikea and priced decently. I just wish we could get everything done already so I don’t have to worry about it anymore!!

The world’s longest yard sale is this weekend – it starts today actually. Maybe I can find some furniture at yard sales on the way home. Wish me luck!

xo – S.J.

Leave a Reply

