Pain Pain Go Away (Day 118)

I HATE the dentist. I know I am not the only one in this department.

I think the last time I went to the dentist was after I had Seth to have my braces removed – yeah – it was that long ago. Luckily for me the only accident I’ve ever had was BEFORE the braces. I think that’s where my jaw pain comes from. Although having metal brackets yanked off your back teeth doesn’t help either.

I went to the website of a few local dental surgeons because I really need to get this chipped tooth out anyway. It’s the one in the very back on the top left. I’ve never had wisdom teeth and never will. I never had the “buds” for them to form when I was little. Go ahead – make a crack in your head about me not having wisdom – I’ve heard them all before. I was the only one of all my friends (that I know of anyway) who hasn’t had wisdom teeth. Kind of a nice boat to be in – I wonder if Seth will have them?

Anywho – one of the websites also has a procedure for TMJ. They make an incision and go in with a tiny microscope and scissors (I seriously had to look that up to spell it) and cut out scar tissue which is the reason for most TMJ pain. Now I got to looking a picture of the human skull.
If you look at the picture (and I looked at several others) you will see where you jaw bone connects to your skull in two different places (in the top right picture). You can also see where your teeth are in relation to the connection of the jaw bone and the skull. Do you see how close that is to the ear?

After looking at this for a while I am pretty sure that it’s NOT my tooth that is killing me even though I will have it removed still. I am pretty sure it’s the TMJ. I can’t take anything for the pain – I’ve been using cold water bottles and ice packs on the left side of my jaw since last night. It helps for a while but just returns once the numbness wears off. Maybe a trip to the chiropractor is in order. I’ve went before when I could hardly open my jaw from TMJD and I was fine only moments after.

Paying for dental surgery isn’t something I look forward to but it’s something I know that needs to be done. If that’s gone and I still have issues like I have been having then well there isn’t anything else I can blame jaw pain on BUT TMJD. Then I guess I will have to figure out how to deal with that or fix it some how.

Wish me luck on finding an oral surgeon to take my insurance!

xo – S.J.

Psstt: Picture from here.

3 thoughts on “Pain Pain Go Away (Day 118)

  1. Do you sleep with a mouth piece in? I have TMJ as well and I had a dentist make me one. It really helps with the pain. If you don’t want to go to the dentist and have one made you can get the moldable (is that a word?) football ones and it’s pretty much the same thing. Don’t get the adult one though. The junior one fits me so I’m sure it’ll fit you too.

    • No I don’t. It never bothers me enough to feel the need to buy one. I don’t grind my teeth so I don’t know what’s causing it. I have wondered if it could be stress related but who knows. I need to go to the chiropractor. That usually fixes it. Going to the chiropractor is like going to the dentist for me. I only go when it’s my last resort for relief.

Leave a Reply

