Last Friday Night (Day 113)

No – it’s not about that new Katy Perry song. It’s about what I made for dinner last week.

I’m not usually the kind of person that goes out on limb to try some amazing recipe that I found unless it’s kind of a special occasion or something. I like to stick with what I know. Friday was the beginning of our three-day weekend and so I figured that since we would be having all kinds of cook out food I would try something a little more homey.
You may not be able to tell it from this photo – but man were they yummy! The recipe said that it could feed up to four people – I guess Jeremy was pretty hungry – there wasn’t any left! Alright – I’ll admit – I ate more than my “serving” too. Seth on the other hand didn’t. He is the type of eater who eats what he likes first and saves for what he doesn’t like last. So needless to say the asparagus was the last on his plate to go and I guess he thought if he got more chicken he’d have to get more asparagus. The kid likes it – I promise he does. There was one time he jumped up and was like “Yes! Asparagus!” No kidding. Of course he had a choice between broccoli or asparagus so I guess he just took the lesser of two evils!

The rolls of course are Pillsbury Croissant rolls (Jeremy loves them) and the asparagus was drizzled with olive oil, salt & pepper with two teaspoons of chopped garlic and put in the oven for about 10-15 minutes at 400 degrees. We like it crunchy but not raw.

Here is the recipe I used for the chicken strips (the link is a PDF – if you don’t have a PDF reader you can download one for free). Honey Mustard Chicken Strips

I got this recipe from Budget Bytes. She breaks down the cost of the food and tells you how much it is for the entire meal and per serving (I have this information at the top of my PDF but she goes more in depth). Of course – I didn’t have paprika so the initial cost is a bit more if you don’t have what you need but if you make it again – it isn’t that bad.

You should check out her website (linked above). I usually try to check it out once a week to see what she’s posted. I found her site through Food Gawker (one of my fav’s). That homemade honey mustard sauce is really good. Jeremy’s been using the left over dipping sauce on burgers and just about anything else he eats! I must say it kind of reminds me of Chick-Fil-A’s sauce but not as wangy.

Hope you enjoy it and if you do make it – let me know how your family liked it.

xo – S.J.

Leave a Reply

