Apple Pie (Day 110)

I’ll be skipping around a lot the next few days trying to cover a few different things. This post is about the 4th Of July though.

We got up around 9am and we had eggs and blueberry waffles. I then decided that I needed to start making the pie for Jeremy’s mom’s party at her house that afternoon. I had went to the store Sunday (or Saturday – I can’t remember) and got a bag of red delicious apples. There were about nine in there.

So I asked Jeremy if he wanted to help and he started cutting up the apples while I made the dough. It says it’s a deep dish apple pie but I couldn’t find a deep dish pie plate ANYWHERE so I just used a regular 9.5″ glass pie plate I got a Wal-Mart for about $5. The dough wasn’t all that hard to make and I left out the extra two tablespoons of shortening it called for. That’s just me.

After I did the dough I started helping Jeremy with the apples. Instead of using a knife to peel them I used a potato peeler – it went faster. After I would peel them Jeremy would use our Pampered Chef apple wedge cutter (ours isn’t stainless) and then cut them up into little pieces. We used all nine of our apples (about 8 cups diced) and ended up having some that wouldn’t fit in the pie crust. I saved it cause you can eat it on ice cream! 🙂

Once it was fixed and in the oven we got ready to go and waited until it was done to leave. We had hamburger patties we had been marinating overnight (Dale’s; Worcestershire and some super secret hamburger seasoning) to take with us too. Once there everyone started grilling so we waited to get in the pool. I cried about something someone said that really shouldn’t have bothered me but did – I cried for about 10 minutes.

Anyway – once food was done we fixed our plates and sat down to eat. I had a baked potato, salad with tomatoes, eggs and cheese and a hamburger. Most everyone else had a rib-eye steak. Those aren’t for me! I had some corn on the cob too but that also isn’t on my favorite list of foods. I had too many dill pickles to count and also too many rolls to count.

Once all the dinner food was done it was time for ice cream. Lynda made homemade vanilla ice cream instead of her usual milky way ice cream because I brought the pie. It was yummy! Everyone except for one person (Seth) wanted pie in the bottom of their bowl with ice cream on top. That left about three small pieces left. It wasn’t long before it was gone.

This was my first attempt at a homemade apple pie – everyone seemed to enjoy it. I should make another one just so I can have another piece! I only got one 😦 So without further a due – the recipe I used.

For the dough:
2 cups all-purpose flour
2/3 cup plus 2 tablespoons shortening (I didn’t use the 2 tablespoons)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup cold water

For the filling:
8 cups sliced apples (Granny Smith or Jona Gold) I used Red Delicious cause that’s all Wal-Mart had
1/4 cup flour
2/3 cup sugar
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg (or apple pie spice – Wal-Mart didn’t have nutmeg)
Dash of salt (left this out too – less salt the better!)

For dough: Use a fork (or your hands in my case) to mix flour, shortening and salt until it makes beads. Slowly add water while mixing. It won’t form a ball but will start to pull away from the sides. Divide and flatten into disks, wrap in plastic wrap and store in refrigerator for 30 minutes.

For filling: Mix all ingredients together and allow to sit while you wait for the pastry.

Assembly: Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Roll one half of the dough into a thin circle. Do this on a sheet of plastic wrap as it will be easier to transfer to the pie plate this way. Once done inserting dough into plate fill with apples. (As I said all of our apples wouldn’t fit because it wasn’t a “deep” pie plate). Roll out the second half of the dough and place over apples. If you would like, before placing apples, cut out shapes in the dough. I just cut slits in mine – make sure to pinch together the top and bottom pieces of dough and cover edges with aluminum foil.

Bake pie for 35 minutes then remove aluminum foil and bake for another 15 minutes until crust is golden brown and filling is bubbly. TIP: Place a baking sheet underneath your pie plate as to catch any drippings that may occur.

That’s it! Enjoy your pie with vanilla ice cream or whipped cream. Oh – I have no idea where I got this recipe – sorry. I’m sure it came from FoodGawker but I have no idea which poster it was. If anyone knows – please leave it below. Almost forgot – here it is after it just came from the oven.
xo – S.J.

Psstt: Let me know if you try out the recipe and how it worked for you!

Leave a Reply

