Work (Day 106)

I like my job. I’m an administrative assistant or secretary – what ever you want to call it. Compared to the other jobs I had – its hands down the best one. I just had my yearly evaluation – I was nervous, scared – but surprisingly it wasn’t bad like – at all. I didn’t get griped at for anything – just given a heads up on new software coming in that I will need to learn.

I’ve worked here for four years this coming January. I’m the second to youngest person here and related to one guy in the shop by marriage. He married my dad’s third cousin by marriage – if that makes any sense. One guy that works here has a younger brother that one of my friends in high school dated for like two years. Oh – I am also the only girl.

At our home office we have about 200 employees – only about 15 or less of them are women. Needless to say that when we have Administrative Assistants Day there aren’t a lot of us and when we have Thanksgiving and Christmas dinners at the home office shop – all of us sit together. Yup – they hire caterers every year to give us this big Thanksgiving and Christmas dinner. It’s really good or when we have yearly awards they do it too.

We also get free turkeys and hams at Christmas and Thanksgiving. We are closed the last week of the year for shut down – we can use our vacation time if we have it – AND we get every holiday off. Did I say it was like the best job in the world?

I’ve worked at Cracker Barrel, Pizza Hut, Krystals, some restaurant I can’t remember, Piccadilly, a survey company (which took about seven years of my life) and another little restaurant that I can’t remember the name of. That one was in an old army hospital (it was a restored old building) and every day we got to try the dish of the day and sit and have drinks if we wanted before the restaurant opened. I never made a lot of money there but I liked it. I worked at all those restaurants when I was laid off at the survey company and before and after I ever worked there. I should have never went back the second time they asked me to but hey – it was a job and I needed it so…..

How do you feel about your job? Do you hate it? Do you love it? Is there that one girl who chews gum all the time and pops it on the back of her teeth that you can’t stand? Is there that one weird guy who hits on every single girl in the office hoping one of them will say yes one day? I’ve had those people before at my other jobs. I even worked with my boyfriend at the times mom once. It was really awkward sometimes.

I worked with Jeremy at the survey company for a few years. We were on different sides of the office so we never really saw each other unless it was lunch time or break time. It was kind of neat to get to see him everyday and spend lunch with him and our friends from work. There were good parts about that job – but the bad parts FAR out weighed the good. I’m happy with where I am and what I am doing and what is going on in my life.

How about you?

xo – S.J.

Leave a Reply

