19 Weeks (Day 105)

Well it’s that time again – my weekly update on the pea.

Today I am 19 weeks. The Bump says that she is the size of a mango (how is that bigger than a sweet potato)? Anyway – it says that she is six inches long and weighs about 8.5 ounces. She has a coating on her skin that protects her from the amniotic fluid. That’s really all it says and that’s kind of a bummer.

Baby Center says that her sensory development is exploding. Her brain is making specialized areas for smell, taste, hearing, vision and touch. She can hear my voice now (which I already thought she could and hear Jeremy too). Baby Center says that she’s the size of an heirloom tomato. I have no idea what an heirloom tomato is but I wonder what it would look like next to a mango.

Her arms and legs are proportioned to her body now. The hair on her scalp is starting to grow too. Which makes me start to think about what her hair will look like when she’s born. Will it be blond or dark brown? Will it be straight like mine or curly like Jeremy’s? I remember when I was little I always wore my hair in a pony tail. If it was a special day I’d wear a ribbon in my hair. I had a few hair clips too but my hair was always really long so it only ever got braided or put back. I was never the “I want my hair curled” little girl.

Which means I’ll have to start figuring out how to fix hair in the future. I mean – what if Keira IS a “I want my hair curled” little girl? What am I supposed to do? I guess I could always take her to her Aunt Crystal! šŸ˜€ I hope she wants her hair long and not chopped off. I still consider my hair long even though it’s only a few inches past my shoulder. It doesn’t compare to what my hair was when I was little though. I don’t think I actually CUT my hair until I was about ten. Mom used to always trim it on a full moon. I’d stand in the chair in the kitchen or in the living room with a towel under me and she would brush all the tangles out and cut about a half an inch off a month. I remember my hair being almost down to my knees – then I wanted it cut one day. Daddy came home from the road and he cried.

So – there is my weekly update. I really need to write another one but I don’t really think I have it in me.

xo – S.J.

Leave a Reply

