18 Weeks (Day 100)

Would you look at that – ONE HUNDRED POSTS! Yea me! Although I do get behind at least I am keep track (and catching up when I do get behind and not just let it slide)!

Once again it’s that time of the week. This is my 18th week of pregnancy or rather four and a half months into my ten month baby growing time. 😀

The Bump says that our little Keira is the size of a sweet potato. She is about 5.6 inches long and weighs about 6.7 ounces. All else it says is that she is amazingly mobile – yawning, kicking, twisting, punching, sucking and swallowing. It says that I should start to feel all this – this week – but I’ve been feeling her every once in a while for the past few weeks. Hard for me to believe that’s all it says but it is!

The Baby Center says everything above plus the fact that we could see her blood vessels through her thin skin and that her ears are close to their final positions. Here’s hoping that they don’t stick out or anything! Also a protective covering of myelin is beginning to form around her nerves, something that will continue to happen until about a year after birth. Since she is a girl her uterus and fallopian tubes are now formed and in place.

Baby Center also says that I can’t lay on my back anymore (which I already knew which is why I can’t sleep) and that I will start to be more hungry. Yup – that is one thing they have said about my changing body that is right this time. I’ve still been drinking my water like always and sometimes I drink Sprite if we go out instead of sweet tea. Lord how I miss sweet tea!!! Also no coffee’s from Starbucks or Panera. I do sometimes drink Kool-Aid but not a whole lot.

Anyway – that’s about it. Next week The Bump says that our little girl will be the size of a mango. How is a sweet potato smaller than a mango? I must be thinking of the wrong fruit or something.

xo – S.J.

Leave a Reply

