Versailles (Day 93)

If you’ve ever taken French or studied France you know exactly what I am talking about.

What you see is the back of the Chateau/Palace of Versailles and the Apollo ornamental lake. In 1636 there was already a pond here, under Louis XIII. Under orders from Louis XIV the Apollo statue was placed. The picture doesn’t do it justice.

I believe it was my sophomore year in high school. I was in my second year of French and a member of the International Club. That year our teacher Mrs. Couey (I think that’s how you spelled it) planned a trip for the International Club to go to France and Spain. I think it was around $1,500 per person for our nine-day trip. I couldn’t believe that I was going to go. I forget now how many of us went, I have pictures some where and I know I have horrible bangs in them.

Moving on. We went to sooo many places in our nine days. The Palace of Versailles was just one of them. There are so many things to see here that we didn’t get to see all of them. We went on a tour, just the regular one, and there were people from everywhere there. One of the places I wish we had visited here…The Queen’s House. At the time though it wasn’t open to the public.

Marie-Antoinette requested the building of a “rustic hamlet” in the late 18th century. This house (her’s) is the central building of the twelve that she requested. Per the Palace website it’s actually TWO houses joined by a wooden gallery. The home to the South the actual Queen’s house and to the North the billiard room.

A few of the places I did see (as far as I can remember without digging through boxes and boxes to find my own photos) the Royal Courtyard (picture from here) and so this can be kept short and sweet the amazingly beautiful Hall of Mirrors (that picture from here).


It’s still hard to believe that I stood in that room. I looked out those windows and over gardens that were breathtaking. I think I bought my mom a book in the gift shop that listed every room in the Palace with details about what went on in there. Of course I could be wrong – my memory sucks sometimes. I do know I was here – I have pictures to prove it – somewhere! Ha!

I have dreams about going back but honestly – I liked Spain more than I liked France. I don’t know why. I hope that one day Seth will have the opportunity to go overseas and I will be glad to figure out how to pay for it. I’ll always owe my mom, my dad and my Granny for sending me.

xo – S.J.

Psstt: The other two pictures are from the Palace Of Versailles web page.

2 thoughts on “Versailles (Day 93)

  1. I am so glad you went, happy I could help send you. Your Granny was a rock and so pleased you were excited to go. I miss her. Yes, I have the book you bought. It is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

