Oh Hugh…(Day 87)

Oh my goodness….the yumminess that is Hugh Laurie. You may know him as Dr. Gregory House or from that Stewart Little movie. Did you know the man can sing and play the piano?

He released his debut album last month – I just heard about it last week so I searched it. I found it on Demonoid.me and was so excited!!! I read up on it before I downloaded it. He has a website up about his music – hughlaurieblues.com.

The first thing I did was register for the guitar signed by him. I don’t play but – at least I would own it (if I win). Then I went to the “About” section. In the first paragraph I read that it is a “celebration of New Orleans blues”. Blues has never been at the top of my “go to” music list but I like it. Some of it. It says the album was inspired by T-Bone Burnett’s “Oh Brother Where Art Thou” soundtrack. Once I read that I knew I had to download it. If you’ve never seen Oh Brother Where Art Thou and you live in the South – there is something wrong with you. Same goes for if you’ve never seen Gone With The Wind.

Anyway – Hugh’s album is called “Let Them Talk” and it’s also the title track. Hugh plays the piano through the whole album and does all the vocals with the help of the so-called “Queen of New Orleans” Irma Thomas, blues piano and horn player Allen Toussaint and vocal legend Sir Tom Jones. He also collaborated on ‘After You’ve Gone’ with Dr. John (Dr. John also was on the album Ringo Starr and his All Starr Band in 1990 – I got that somewhere).

So I downloaded it and I’ve been listening to it while writing this post. I might not be for most people – but I like it pretty well. Hugh doesn’t sound English when he sings but his voice is just – I can’t really find a word for it. You just have to listen to it. Since I say that – here you go. The first one is an intro to the album itself – if you don’t want to listen to it skip to the next one to hear him just sing. Sorry the second one is jumpy – it’s the only one I could find!! Let me know what you think.

xo – S.J.

Psstt: Picture of Hugh from here.

2 thoughts on “Oh Hugh…(Day 87)

Leave a Reply

