Week 16 (Day 85)

Weekly Pea Update!

I have about 170 days left in my pregnancy – give or take a few days. It seems crazy to think about.

According to The Bump: Thanks to an increase in blood flow – I will enjoy quick-growing nails & hair, smooth and firm skin (looking forward to this actually happening since I broke out the first trimester), and a healthy glow. So now I get the glow? It’s about time! One bit of bad news it says – my eyes might be feeling a bit dry these days. Honestly – it’s true. I have a bad habit of not taking out my contacts as often as I should at night so just about every morning I have to put eye drops in cause they feel like sand paper. I know – I’m a bad contact wearer.

Oh – before I get into anything else – I gained back my two pounds apparently. So yeah me! 🙂

The Bump doesn’t really say that much about the baby development this week. Only that the baby can now hear my voice – which I thought he/she already could. Eyebrows, lashes and hair are starting to fill in too and taste buds are forming.

Baby Center says a little more. In the next few weeks the baby should double in weight add inches to his/her length. Right now he/she is the size of an avocado (see below)- four and a half inches long (head to rump) and three and a half ounces. His/her legs are more developed (I can tell) and his/her head is more erect than it has been. His/her eyes have moved have moved closer to the front of its head and ears are close to their final positions (I thought that already happened too – maybe I read ahead and confuse myself!). The patterning of his/her scalp has begun but looks aren’t recognizable yet. Toenails have started to grow too! His/her heart is now pumping 25 quarts of blood each day and will continue to increase as the baby develops.

Baby Center also says to plan a romantic getaway soon even if it’s a close to home getaway. Our four-year wedding anniversary is next month (July 7th) so I’ve been looking at places to go. I can’t really pick anywhere. Jeremy doesn’t really like to drive far (6 hours or more) and I really want to go to the beach or a lake. So hope for us that we find somewhere to go and hang out together where ever it may be!

xo – S.J.

Psstt: Picture of Avocado from here.

Leave a Reply

