City Of Bones Casting Update (Day 81)

I saw a little banner off to the right side of my Facebook today about casting for this movie – one of my FAVORITE series – and so I clicked on it. I didn’t want to believe what it was saying so I went directly to the source: CassandraClare.com.

Ugh! To my amazement (and disappointment) the announcement was true. Jamie Campbell-Bower has been cast as Jace. In case you don’t know who Jamie is he has played in Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street; Rock N’ Rolla;
New Moon; Harry Potter & The Deathly Hallows Part 1 & 2 and both installments of Breaking Dawn.

Now – I loved Jace in the books. He was mysterious and haunting. I imagined what his character would look like and sorry to say that it wasn’t Jamie. I as well as a few other people who read Cassandra’s web page believed that Alex Pettyfer should have been Jace.  Swoon!!! Doesn’t he just seem haunting and mysterious more so than Jamie?

I read the interview that Cassandra gave about her reaction to Jamie being selected as Jace. She said that Lilly Collins wrote in to the casting director asking for Jamie to play Jace.

Cassandra also stated that Jamie will be going through boot camp to bulk up and that he actually came to his audition dressed as Jace – jeans, tight black t-shirt and rings on his fingers.

I was really pulling for Alex to be cast as Jace so lets hope that Jamie doesn’t disappoint. I know there were lots of us out there pulling for Alex and pulling for the other actors that auditioned.

Anyone else read these books? What do you think of Jamie being cast as Jace?

xo – S.J.

Psstt: Picture of Jamie from here. Alex from here.

4 thoughts on “City Of Bones Casting Update (Day 81)

  1. Wasn’t “Jace” one of the names you all selected? Please tell me you are not going to name my grand baby after a vampire! : )

    • Yes – Jace was one of the names on our list BUT he is not a vampire in this book series. There ARE vampires – that character isn’t one! His character is actually what they call in this book the Nephilim. Mentioned twice in the Bible in Genesis 6:4 and Numbers 13:33 The Nephilim are said to be offspring of the “sons of God” and the “daughters of men”. The writer – Cassandra – used this to say in her own words that Nephilim were the offspring of angels and humans and are here to protect the world from evil (ie: vampires, werewolves, faeries etc.)
      I had heard the name first in this book but the meaning of Jace is actually God is my salvation according to our baby name book. 🙂 So no – if it’s a boy – it will not be named after a vampire. lol

    • Well – we find out soon enough if we even have to pick a boy name – Crystal did the “ring test” last night when she came over. Put my wedding band on a necklace and hold it over my belly. If it goes in a circle it’s a girl if it goes back and forth it’s a boy – it went in a circle. I also did the Chinese birth calendar thing and it said a girl. Guess we will see Friday!

Leave a Reply

