Busy Busy (Day 74)

Today I am working – sort of – and I have a three-day weekend ahead of me. Now – usually I would maybe mow the yard and clean the house. This weekend however is different.

Tonight we have a graduation to go to. My step niece is graduating high school – it seems like only yesterday when I first met her and her brother when they were like nine or ten – maybe even sooner than that because I knew Jeremy and his family in high school.

I remember giving Hunter her 16th birthday party – she likes purple and buttons so her cake was three tiers – white icing with purple fondant buttons and we had a “candy bar” with all different kinds of candy. It was great! Now she’s graduating and going to college this August. Before I cry lets move on…

Saturday – warm sunny Saturday – swimming and cook out maybe? If Jeremy’s mom decides to do something on Monday then Saturday will prob be spent in the house hopefully trying to get the back bedroom cleaned out (finally!) and being lazy after that. Oh – there is a graduation Saturday night too. A friend of mine from church is graduating high school – she’s not sure what she wants to do yet but I’m proud of her none the less.

Also on Saturday there is a birthday party which the graduation and the birthday party are at the same time so we will have to pick – I hate that but there will be a graduation party for Ash on Sunday if we can’t attend her graduation. That leads us to Sunday. Church – dinner – graduation party? – church – home. Our usual Sunday but without the graduation party.

Then there is Monday – Memorial Day. Per Wikipedia: Begun as a ritual of remembrance and reconciliation after the civil war, by the early 20th century, Memorial Day was an occasion for more general expressions of memory, as ordinary people visited the graves of their deceased relatives, whether they had served in the military or not. It also became a long weekend increasingly devoted to shopping, family gatherings, fireworks, trips to the beach, and national media events such as the Indianapolis 500 (since 1911) and the Coca-Cola 600 (since 1960) auto races.

Reading this reminds me that Decoration for my dad’s cemetery is this weekend – at least I think so. I could be a weekend off. I used to go with him when he was still here for his family buried there. They clean off the markers and mow and put new flowers down or plant trees. I haven’t been since daddy’s been gone. There is some family that goes that I don’t really care to see. I plan on going up one Friday evening though to visit my nieces so I will stop by there too.

So – my weekend sounds pretty busy right? Yeah – here’s hoping I don’t get burnt swimming either Saturday or Monday or maybe even both. Here’s also hoping that everyone is safe this weekend and don’t do anything stupid. 🙂

xo – S.J.

Leave a Reply

