Oohh Burn! (Day 68)

That reminds me of That 70’s Show and Ashton Kutcher’s character. This past weekend was the first weekend in a while that we didn’t HAVE to be somewhere doing something. So we took that as a sign to do some yard work.

Saturday morning I got up and fixed biscuits, eggs and maple bacon (the house still smells like it). That is our usual Saturday morning breakfast. If I had felt up to it I would have fixed pancakes too but I can’t eat a lot lately so I just didn’t. After we ate and sat around for about an hour we all got dressed and when outside.

It was warm but not “Omg it’s HOT!” outside and the humidity didn’t smack you in the face either. Jeremy got the new John Deere out of the building and taught me how it worked. It’s weird cause there are no gears – you just push the pedal like a car and the more you push the faster it goes. There’s even a reverse petal. This mower has a bigger cutting radius than our really old one so it wouldn’t take us long.

Jeremy weed eated (is that how you spell that?) while I mowed the entire one acre. I had shorts on and a white t-shirt and didn’t think once about sunscreen. While Jeremy took fencing to his brother I got into the shower and realized I was pretty red – well at least the top of my legs were and my arms. You could see where my watch had been on my arm. We were meeting up with some friends to go watch the new Pirates movie at 4:30 so we had to keep a watch on the time.

It’s not so bad that I can’t move but if my arms or my legs itch – I soon regret scratching it. Jeremy got pretty red too but mostly on his neck. Nothing that some aloe won’t fix for both of us.

We got to the movie and then went to dinner at a local pizza place with our friend’s mom and his step-dad. It was nice – I hadn’t seen her in forever. We went to bed at a decent hour for the weekend – about 10:30 – and I think I was asleep as soon as my head touched the pillow.

I forgot how doing yard work could wear you out like that – it was nice though and I got some sun. Now I don’t look like one of those people who hide out in their house all the time!!!

xo – S.J.

Leave a Reply

