Suprised (Day 61)

Yesterday we had our three-month check up with our OB. I had a list of five questions – it was four but I added one about how to pay for everything. I was nervous about asking but Jeremy wasn’t – at least I don’t think he was anyway.

In no particular order here was our questions with our OB’s answers.

#1: Do either of the hospitals that I may go to offer water births? His answer: “Your first choice hospital (Erlanger) used to but it was costing them $13 million and was rarely used so they tore that room out and made more maternity suites. No one else in the area does.” What a bummer – oh well. I’m glad I didn’t get my hopes up for nothing.

#2: How many people are allowed in the delivery room? His answer: “If you have a c-section only 2 counting your husband if it’s a regular delivery you can have five counting your husband.” YES! Sort of. There are five people who have either expressed interest in being in the room or that I think may want to be in there but haven’t said anything yet. So that means that one of them won’t be able to be in there. I hate that. I hate to have to pick someone to not be in there when their grandchild or niece/nephew is born but it is a decision that will have to be made.

#3: When will we find out what we are having? His answer: “In about four weeks.” Hurrah!!! Now I can start planning – our gender reveal party!!! If you’re family or friends that is reading this – email me your address on my Facebook page and I’ll put you on the list!

#4: How do we pay you? His answer: “Let me let you talk to so and so down the hall.” After our appointment we did. Surprisingly it wasn’t as bad as I thought it was going to be. I have a $2,000 deductible on my insurance and I already have $360 something on there so that leaves around $1,640 to pay then we pay 20% after that. My OB charges a flat rate of $2,000 something so yeah! 🙂

#5: How do you feel about a natural unmedicated child-birth? His answer: “I’m not the one having the baby so what ever you want to do is okay with me. Second babies are easier too but you can always change your mind if you want.” I explained to him about having the epi needle stuck in me seven times with Seth and that I didn’t want to do that again. So another YES for us!

I’m so glad, I have an awesome OB!!!

How was your Friday and what’s your plans for this weekend??

xo – S.J.

Leave a Reply

