Happy Mother’s Day (Day 55)

If I’m doing the math right – my mom was about 20 or 21 on her first mother’s day. On my first mother’s day I had just turned 19. I wonder if she felt the same way I did on my first mother’s day. I was looking at my little boy who wasn’t even two months old yet wondering – how am I going to do this?

I heard on the radio Friday morning the salary that a stay at home mom should receive if she was paid for being a mother. It was around $61,000 a year. Seriously? Let’s see: baker, cook, cleaning crew, food machine, chauffeur, organizer; I think there is just too much to list. I would have thought it would be AT LEAST $75,000 but I guess I was wrong.

Mom’s do a lot and sometimes we do the wrong thing. When we do – I think it’s harder for us to say that we did it wrong for fear of judgment from other moms. You know what though – we all make mistakes, we are not perfect. I have the mom that God wanted me to have and I’m glad He picked her. We’ve had our ups and downs but in the end it’s all worked out. I’m a stronger person because of it. I am sure she had ups and downs with her mom too – we all do. What we have to remember is that they always want what’s best for us even if we thought (or think) that it’s the worst thing ever.

I know Seth gets mad when I tell him he can’t do something or go somewhere just like I got mad at my mom if she said something like that. My mom did what she thought I needed, what she thought was best for me always. I believe that. I’m glad I don’t have make up on….

We only get one mom – Mother’s Day is a day to celebrate her and the job she has done. I may not buy my mom fancy jewelry or one of those sappy cards (cause I’ll cry – duh) but I know that she knows I love her no matter what it is I get her.

I love you mom – Happy Mother’s Day!

One thought on “Happy Mother’s Day (Day 55)

  1. I love you too, my baby Girl! Happy Mother’s Day to you, too. This time next year you will have another little one and will be wondering the same things too…can I do this again? You can! I am proud of you and Johnathan, always have been, always will be.
    When Mother’s Day comes around I think most about my own Mother who has gone home to be with the Lord. I miss her every day. I still have tears for her loss and wonder what she would say to me today when I need her advice.
    Don’t ever wonder if I am here for you. I always have been and yes, sometimes Mom’s tell us things we don’t want to hear but it is because they love us and want us to be happy and sometimes it is because they don’t want us to have the pitfalls they encountered along the way. I wish I had listened a little closer to my Mom.
    Happy Mother’s Day, my fine young woman! I am proud to be your Mom! : )

Leave a Reply

