Dollywood & Wonder Works (Day 48)

Since the River Battle was closed we walked ALL the way back around to where the River Rampage was. Seth really wanted to do a water ride and we figured that would be the best one for all of us. I remembered what it was like and it’s not bumpy or anything you just get really wet. So in line we stood.

We were in a “raft” with another woman and her daughter. Seth sat next to her – big surprise. It wasn’t bumpy at all but we did get a little wet. Seth got SOAKED – it was hilarious. After that we had to walk around to dry off and we got a frozen cherry lemonade – my goodness that was so good! I can’t remember what else we did while we waited to dry off but we were there until about five or six. We couldn’t check into our hotel until after four anyway.

OH – Seth did win a Papa Smurf plush toy. The Smurf was pretty big too. We paid $5 for a bucket of whiffle balls and we had to get one of them to land on top of a colored cup. Seth only tried three times before he got it. Me and Jeremy didn’t hit any of them!

Once out of the park and on the way to the hotel I could tell I was getting really hungry. We stayed at the Days Inn on the Parkway. We got the room for around $50 through Hotels.com. It looked nice from the street but the elevator was awful. It looked like it hadn’t been cleaned since the place was opened. I was worried about our room. We had a two queen bed room, non smoking. There was a door inside that was locked and latched that went to the room next to us. I hate that. It freaks me out. The bathroom was tiny – as expected. We checked the bed for bed bugs – I’m sure we are not the only ones to do this – and everything was fine. We hung out in there for about an hour unpacking shampoo and stuff we knew we would need later.

We decided to go to dinner two buildings down at TGI Friday’s. I love their Jack Daniel’s Chicken on the appetizer menu – which is what I had. 🙂 Jeremy had the Jack Daniel’s Sampler and Seth had a kids pizza. It was really good and the waitress was awesome. After our great dinner we went to Wonder Works. In case you’ve never been there – they
call themselves the “indoor amusement park” and they are open until midnight on the weekends. Since we got there at about eight we had plenty of time to explore.

There were so many things to do in here that I will not and can not explain them all. I will however say that my son pitches faster than me and that’s sad.

We played with bubbles, Seth laid on a bed of nails TWICE and tons of other stuff. It’s a really neat place but it is $23 for adults and $13 for kids so it’s not on the cheap side of things but is anything in Pigeon Forge on the cheap side?

It was almost midnight by the time we got back to our hotel and we all had to have showers so it was almost one when I fell asleep. The next morning we had free breakfast downstairs so we got up at 8:30 and went. They had waffles, krispy kreme doughnuts, cereal, toasts and jams, orange and apple juice and lastly – biscuits and gravy. It was good for a free breakfast.

After that we went back to our room and packed up all our stuff and checked out. In the next post I will tell you about the rest of the day in Pigeon Forge and what I picked up for me and my growing belly!!

xo – S.J.

Psstt: I have no idea where I got this picture – sorry!!

Leave a Reply

