1st Ultrasound (Day 34)

Friday morning I had an OB appointment. The hubs was able to go with me since he doesn’t have school on Fridays. It seemed like we sat there FOREVER. Finally they called me back for vitals. Everything was fine with that and they weighed me – I hate that part – and said I had gained two pounds. I weighed myself this morning and I weigh one pound LESS than my very first visit.

So after that the sent me back out to wait. The next time they called me the hubs got to come with me. They sent us to a little room and told us to wait for the doctor. This would be the first time that my OB and the hubs met. It wasn’t all that dramatic. šŸ™‚ He asked if I had been having “growing pains” which I have. Then he asked if we had an ultrasound the first time. We said we didn’t but that we would really LOVE to have one today. He wrote it down on my chart and said for us to check back in and wait out front for them to call us.

I was so excited!! I mean – we knew we were pregnant but I really wanted to see the baby on a screen and I know the hubs did to. In about 10 minutes they called us back and we followed the nurse into a dark room where the equipment was. I laid down on the table and the hubs sat down in a chair beside me already watching the screen. She did her thing (the gel) and we waited for that little image.

At first you couldn’t see anything. Then this little bean popped up on the screen and you could see that the baby was on its side. We could see one “arm” and one “leg” and its little head. I smiled and looked at the hubs and I don’t think I’ve ever seen him smile that big – EVER. He was mesmerized by that little image on the screen.

Something I didn’t expect was that they had 4D imaging there. She converted the standard ultrasound into the 4D one on the screen and we got to actually see the little leg and arm “paddles” and the umbilical cord and everything! After that she went back to the standard ultrasound and measured out the heart and we heard that fast little beat for the first time. It was 162 bpm. Old wives tales say faster is a girl, slower is a boy. The nurse said it was pretty high so it was a girl according to the tale. We won’t be sure until some time in July though.

We have another appointment in about a month. I don’t know if they will give us an ultrasound then or not but I hope they do! They gave us two pictures of the 4D and one picture of the heartbeat ultrasound. It’s lovely.

xo – S.J.

PS: I showed Seth later that day and he said “What is this?” I explained to him what everything was in the picture and all he had to say was “Cool” and a big smile. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

